My Experience: Taylor Swift’s 1989 World Tour

tumblr_nwe4ogFo1i1r0h6rbo1_1280

On Saturday, October 17, 2015, my mom bought us last minute tickets to Taylor Swift’s 1989 World Tour, and hands down, it was one of the best concert’s I’ve ever been to! She killed it Saturday night!! Here is my experience:

.My mom was contemplating getting tickets ever since my aunt mentioned she was going to take my little cousin, Thursday night. To be honest, I’ve never been a Swifty, so it didn’t really matter to me whether or not I was going to see her (I fell out of interest after her Speak Now album), but surprisingly, my mom bought us the tickets, and I found myself dropping everything and getting ready for the night.

The last time I had been to AT&T Stadium was when the Jonas Brothers were here for their 2009 World Tour.

Getting to AT&T Stadium was an absolute nightmare, and we had to park about half block away from the stadium, but it wasn’t too bad of a walk. We were running slightly late, so we had missed about 3/4 of Shawn Mendes’s set, which I was slightly bummed about. My seat was in section 447, and if you have ever been to AT&T Stadium, this is nose bleed section on the far left side of the stage, but I wasn’t complaining.

Vance Joy, who also opened for Taylor, was amazing, and majority of his set was acoustic, or with the band playing slightly behind him. It was simple, and for one of his songs, he asked for people to turn on the lights on their cell phones, and it looked like I was sitting in a room full of stars, which enhanced the affects of his performance of “Georgia.”

Now, time for the main event. Taylor opened up her show with “Welcome to New York,” and she was absolutely fabulous. After her performance, she addressed a hello to the crowd, but her expression when she took the vibe in from the audience was just priceless. She showed that she was genuinely in awe, and it brought chills throughout my body, and made me smile. I just loved how she addressed her fans more than once, allowing the setting to be more intimate and connected.

Throughout her entire show, her costumes, singing, and acting skills while performing were on point.  I also loved how she sang two old songs from her past albums: “Fifteen” and “Love Story”. I was also in love with her mashup of “Enchanted” and “Wildest Dreams”, which just flowed nicely.

Taylor did not have an intermission, which shocked me because I would assume that for as long as her set was, she would’ve wanted an intermission.

Towards the end of her concert, Taylor brought a special guest, and when she was introduced, my mom proceeded to scream. For the Dallas show, Taylor’s special guest was Ellie Goulding, and together they sang “Love Me Like You Do.”  Which I have to say was amazing. Both ladies sound as amazing live as in studio.

One of the coolest features of the concert were these complimentary bracelets which were attached to each seat in the stadium. These bracelets were synchronized with the music, and flashed to the beat or created colorful random patterns across the entire audience. Everyone was illuminated and just having a blast.

I have to take a minute and give Taylor’s dancers a round of applause as well. They were absolutely amazing and their stunts were just jaw dropping. I noticed that each dancer had a GoPro attached to their chest, and it made me curious about what her production team is going to do with the gathered footage.

Overall, I had a blast, and I have to admit, I am now fully a Swifty, and am completely in love all over again.

Until Next Time xoxo 

Joslyn

One thought on “My Experience: Taylor Swift’s 1989 World Tour

Leave a Reply

