I Survived Working My First Black Friday!!

photo-1444564405235-1f5c6234755f edit

Image by Safouan Besrour (https://unsplash.com/besrour)

As almost everyone knows, Black Friday is the annual event where people of all ages gather to do some extreme shopping with amazing deals that are almost too good to be true (usually the biggest sale of the year).

For some, it’s an adrenaline packed rush full of early holiday shopping and joy; and for others, the experience is the equivalence of Dante’s Inferno, where you work in retail depends your fate.

As for me, I didn’t suffer too much while working on Black Friday. Here is my experience of working my first Black Friday:

The week before Thanksgiving, my general manager sent out an email to everyone, finalizing the details of our biggest day of the year. We were notified that the store would be open from 6am-9pm; however, we were in need of workers from 4am-12am… yikes!

Thankfully, I was able to decide my own fate and which hours I wanted to work! I ended up working from 9am-4pm, which is a typical workday shift for me. So, the hours that I was working wasn’t the problem. The problem was the sheer amount of people we had to accommodate and check out. I swear I was at that register for at least 2 hours straight, with no pause to breathe!

I was lucky enough to be working at my current job, versus my old job from last year. For starters, the location of the mall I work at now is not nearly as busy as my old mall. Also, my previous job was working at a department store versus a retail store, where I work at now.

Department stores consist of other departments other than clothes (i.e Macy’s, Kohl’s, Dillard’s, etc.).

Like I said previously, my only issue was how fast paced everything was, and the intimidation factor of so many people in line at the registers, just staring you down. I did have a couple of costumers who were trying to make things more difficult for me and my managers, but we were able to work it out. But, out of all the people I checked out and helped at the register, this only happened with a couple of customers.

Whenever I stepped off of the register to head onto the sales floor, the store was a mess! We had enough people working to try and get full store coverage, but that wasn’t enough to keep up with the masses of people that came flooding in.

Other than my feet hurting and the few instances with difficult customers, I have to say that my first Black Friday as a sales associate wasn’t too bad! Not gonna lie, in the moment, I felt like I was going to die, and the adrenaline was rushing through my body, trying to focus so hard not to mess up or take too much time with one customer.

Overall, my verdict is that working Black Friday isn’t as bad, but then again, this is all based on the circumstances of location, management, and freewill to select the hours I wanted to work. (I still wished that I was the one shopping instead of working though.)

#blogmas

Until Next Time xoxo 

Joslyn

Leave a Reply

