Asian Stereotypes That Have Bothered Me

photo-1418272235035-0af44555fc86 edit

Image by Riku Lu

Hello Loves~

I know it has been a while, and that I’m still off schedule, BUT I am currently fixing that with pre-writing, etc.

Today’s post was inspired due to the ignorance of one coworker of mine. Long story short, she’s awful, and I don’t like her that much. Background info: She believes our GM got his job because we are located in an area which is highly populated by Asians.

**Disclaimer: I do not mean to offend anybody, I just deeply bothered by what my coworker said, and needed to express how I feel about some stereotypes. I don’t resent the people who have offended me in the past either.**


Ever since I was little, I have always brushed off certain stereotypical phrases with nervous laughs and quirky shoulder shrugs; however, that wasn’t the case: some of these Asian stereotypes really bothered me in a deep and personal way, some more than most. It bothered me to the point where I was ashamed to be Asian, and tried to act more ‘white washed.’

  1. You’re Smart Because You’re Asian.
    This one really hits home for me. Not only is this false, but this phrase really disregards and belittles the time and effort which I, and others, have used to get good grades. Many people have accused me with this particular phrase, not knowing that I stayed up late or spent weeks studying, or working on a project, etc. Your race cannot define how smart you are.
  2. Are You Chinese or Asian?
    I’m more irritated than offended when I get asked this question. In my opinion, this question is not considered racist to me. I completely understand when people say that Asians look alike and get confused between specific races. This question irritates me more because of the ignorance behind this question. For example, this question is similar to someone asking “Are you American or Caucasian?”. There are a million ‘types’ of Asians in the world: Korean, Taiwanese, Cambodian, Filipino, Japanese, etc. I would prefer if people asked “Are you ______?,” or even, “What are you?”
  3. All Asians Are Rich.
    Growing up, even in a private school environment, people always assumed my entire family was rich because we were Asian. I understand that a lot of Asians are doctors, and that’s the stereotypical occupation for Asians, but those who were verbally attacking me about this ‘issue’ were claiming my grandparents were surgeons. They were farmers and carpenters.
    This one really did hit home because it, again, disregards all the struggles (especially monetary ones) which my family has endured. My family members chose their occupations solely to try and help my grandparents pay off debt and loans that they accumulated from immigrating after the Vietnam War.
  4. Do You Eat Dog? What’s It Taste Like?
    This one made me roll my eyes more than anything else. I mean the first couple of times I’ve been asked this question, I just laughed it off because of how ridiculous they sounded, but after ten, fifteen, thirty plus people, it just got annoying.
    No. I’ve never had dog before because I was born and raised in the States, and my parents came here when they were fairly young.

These are just the top four stereotypical comments that I’ve received multiple times in my life: so many times were I start to feel this gnawing in my soul which wants me to be super sassy with the next person who mentions any of these four.

Growing up, I was bullied for being Asian, even though I wasn’t the only Asian, and that other Asians were laughing along even though they had similar characteristics and features. Overall, I don’t mind comments like these whenever someone is teasing or joking with me; however, harass me or others, or bring it to work or any professional environment, and I will not tolerate it.

I can go in more depth about how I feel, and have story time about this particular coworker; however, I know that isn’t everyone’s cup of tea. But, if you like story time, about anything, by all means, let me know what you want to know about, and I can put it together in a video or something.

Until Next Time xoxo

Joslyn

Leave a Reply

