#042522: Grad School Update

hello loves! long time, no see!

it has been around seven months since my last post, and to be completely honest, i forgot that i had various social media platforms to manage. as many of you know, i started graduate school and am pursing my doctorate of physical therapy.

school in itself has been challenging, especially this previous trimester. therefore, i have not had much time to dedicate to myself, much less my hobbies. however, that is not what i want. what i experienced with my emotions and mental state was similar to my undergraduate career, and that is something that i did not want to go back to.

so, i will try my hardest to find a better balance this next trimester. for starters, i need to get back to journaling regularly but sometimes it is difficult to pick up a pen and write legibly when i don’t necessarily have to. so, maybe i will use my blog as a digital journal as well!

᠃ ⚘᠂ ⚘ ˚ ⚘ ᠂ ⚘ ᠃

anyways, life around school has been hectic. i decided to run for an officer position for one of the university’s organizations, and planning for events and managing things are apart of my responsibilities for the rest of the year. so far, we have had roughly three successful events. however, we are lacking in certain areas compared to our predecessors. so, i will be working harder to help fulfill those responsibilities.

this trimester was challenging as we, as a cohort, had to juggle our last term of general anatomy and musculoskeletal I: introduction to orthopedics. anatomy is demanding in itself, but to pair it with MSK was too much to handle. MSK is one of our first “real” courses where we have to apply different ways of thinking and utilize new terminology and skills. now that i have successfully completed the course, the material taught was not as challenging as i had originally thought. however, the course structure made it difficult to make improvements in terms of your grade percentages.

my program is also very specific with certain details that other program may not focus much on. regardless, a good majority of the class struggled together, and i found comradery in other classmates. so far, i have not heard of any bad news — which i am grateful for.

᠃ ⚘᠂ ⚘ ˚ ⚘ ᠂ ⚘ ᠃

for the next two weeks, i will be off and recuperating for the next trimester. for the next term, i will be in two neurologic courses, MSK II, differential diagnosis, pharmacology, and a couple others. it will be a crammed term, similar to this previous one, but i am determined to be ahead and on top of my studies and asynchronous material. i am nervous for the intensity, but i am more prepared for it compared to the previous.

in the meantime, i hope to work on some of my hobbies and get back to doing things that i enjoy in my free-time!

for this next week, i will be preoccupied with work and visiting family members, but for the most part, i plan to be more active on M.A.N. and my other social media outlets. in regards to my blog, i plan to be more relaxed with it. for the longest time, i was concerned about the theme, the look, and the overall content that i was interested in writing in. when i first created this platform, it was based off my interests and what i wanted to talk about — without anything too specific.

surprisingly, it did really well (all things considered)! so, i wish to return to that mindset.

i hope you will join me in my little corner of the internet! until next time~

with love, Joslyn

ʕ •ᴥ•ʔ

Leave a comment